Past Awardees

At every meeting ogranized by the International Glycoconjugate Organization, an award is issued for exceptional contribution to the field of Glycobiology.

The year 2017 award has been issued to Professor Pauline Rudd, NIBRT (Ireland).

Previous award winners are as follows:

2015  Taroh Kinoshita (Japan)
2013  Kurt Drickamer (United Kingdom)
2011  Jeffrey Esko (USA)
2009  Markus Aebi (Switzerland)
2007  Ajit Varki (USA)
2005  Anne Dell (United Kingdom) and Konrad Sandhoff (Germany)
2003  Pamela Stanley (USA)
2001  Naoyuki Taniguchi (Japan)
1999  Michael A.J. Ferguson (United Kingdom)
1997  Gerald W. Hart (USA)

Preview format of the Jeffery Esko's lecture held at the Glyco XXI is intended to be viewed directly (this version functions well in web browsers), whereas the high-quality version can be downloaded for viewing if so desired (400 MB!).

The IGO also supports young glycoscientists by issuing the IGO Young Glycoscientist Awards.

In the year 2017, the IGO Young Glycoscientist Award has been issued to:
Dr. Yoann Rombouts, CNRS researcher at the University of Toulouse, France